Meet the board

The Board

Our Board is made up of experienced people who are passionate about leading Amnesty International Aotearoa New Zealand. Meet our current members.

Heather Hayden, Chair

Heather is the Chair of the Board and brings fantastic governance experience to the organisation. She has held a number of governance roles in the community sector. One of Heather's highlights has been serving as Deputy Chair of the Council for International Development.


Sara Hay, Treasurer

Sara is an authentic leader whose values strongly align with Amnesty International and can be summarised with – he tangata, he tangata, he tangata. She is Chief Financial Officer at Wellington City Council.


Nirupa George, Board Member

Nirupa is currently the Chief Corporate Affairs Officer at SkyCity Entertainment Group. Prior to this, she was the Chief of Staff to the Mayor of Auckland. She started her career as a refugee lawyer in Auckland.


Gill Greer CBE, MNZM, PhD, D.Lit, Board Member

Gill Greer has been an advocate in a range of settings, including the United Nations, European, Pacific and New Zealand Parliamentary groups, the Assembly of the African Union, and many other international, regional, national and community organisations.


Chennoah Walford, Board Member

Chennoah is a campaigner and community organiser with experience in Aotearoa and Australia. Chennoah has been an active member of Amnesty International for 15 years, joining at the age of 13.